Member since Aug 21, 2010


  • No friends yet.
Become My Friend Find friends »

Latest Review

Re: “Blue Paddle Bistro

Have Dinner on Us!
As an owner of The Paddle, I am very disappointed that we didn't meet your expectations - twice, no less. Phoebe Bright (co-owner/chef) and I truly care about the dining experience of every person who shares his or evening with us. One of my roles is to "check in" on tables to insure that everyone is happy and satisfied. Clearly, I failed you in not talking with you directly. If I had, I would have made it right - right there on the spot. We would like to offer you a gift certificate for a dinner for two, good any time this fall. Perhaps, we could "win" you back. Please call me directly at 372-4814 ... I'd appreciate it. Thanks so much, ahead of time, for your consideration. Mandy Hotchkiss

1 like, 0 dislikes
Posted by bluepaddlebistro on 09/07/2012 at 8:15 AM

Recent Comments

Re: “Blue Paddle Bistro

We Truly Care
As a co-owner, I'd like to apologize for your experience at The Paddle. First, I'm sorry you felt rushed. As a small restaurant, we do have to have "seatings" but we do allot ample time for all our diners - and you should not have had any pressure to enjoy your meal. With that being said, last night we had a lot of reservations (unusual for a Sunday night). Usually, we have mostly "walk-ins", like your family, and there is more flexibility with the tables . With regards to your daughter's chicken breast: when it was brought to my attention that it was grilled too much I asked our server to offer another entree, anything, on us of course. When I visited your table and inquired about your experience I had no idea that your wife's chicken saute wasn't cooked to perfection. We really do care about each and everyone who passes through our door; I do wish you had given me the chance to make it right besides the 15% off your entire next meal coupon we gave you as a "thank you" for visiting us. I do want you to come back. I hope this explains a little ... if you wouldn't mind, please call me directly at 372-4814. I'd like to send you a gift certificate! Thank you and warm regards, Mandy Hotchkiss

1 like, 0 dislikes
Posted by bluepaddlebistro on 07/11/2011 at 9:59 AM

Re: “Blue Paddle Bistro

Thanks for the feedback ...
As one of the owners of The Paddle, I'd like to thank the writer for taking the time to critique our restaurant. We are always striving to put our best foot forward, both with Phoebe's food ... and our service. Clearly, we didn't meet all of your expectations. I do wish to let you know that when I took your reservation, I was unaware that you wished to be on the first floor. Had I known that, I would have reserved a table for you in our main dining room. As soon as I was made aware of your desire to move downstairs, I really did try to make that happen. Unfortunately, we have music on many Thursday nights, and a lot of folks were there to dine and, specifically, hear the music. I'm also truly sorry that you didn't get your risotto - when I asked how the two of you were doing, I had no idea that we forgot that substitution. Had I known, I promise I would have made it right for you! Lastly, we never intended on rushing your table. Although you came late (oh my, that water over the sandbar), that table was all yours for the rest of the evening. I'll work more closely with our newer servers in "timing". If you so desire, I'd love it if you'd call me directly at The Paddle - I would like to send you a complimentary gift certificate! Warm regards, Mandy

Posted by bluepaddlebistro on 05/06/2011 at 3:28 PM

Re: “Blue Paddle Bistro

We want you back ...
As one of the owners of The Paddle, I'd like to apologize for your less-than-great experience at our little restaurant on Valentine's Day. We are truly owner-operators and we strive to make everyone's dining experience a superior one. With that being said, we failed with you. If you wouldn't mind, I'd love to talk with you directly and make it right in some way. Thank you, ahead of time, for your consideration to call me. Warm regards, Mandy Hotchkiss (Phone: 802-372-4814)

Posted by bluepaddlebistro on 02/18/2011 at 9:52 AM

Re: “Blue Paddle Bistro

Gosh, We're Sorry (this just doesn't sound like us
As one of the owners of the Blue Paddle, I would like to address the two previous comments. On behalf of Phoebe and myself, I want to apologize for the reviewers' poor experiences while dining with us. Over the past five plus years, we have rarely received such negative, albeit important, feedback. Our business means the world to us and, if that didn't come across to you, we're not doing our job. We want to make this right. I would appreciate it very much if SUPPERMAN and KJINVT would call me directly at (802) 372-4814. My name is Mandy Hotchkiss. On a lighter note: We now serve egg-white omelettes :)

Posted by bluepaddlebistro on 08/21/2010 at 9:12 AM

Favorite Places

  • None.
Find places »

Saved Events

  • Nada.
Find events »

Saved Stories

  • Nope.
Find stories »

Custom Lists

  • Zip.

Keep up with us Seven Days a week!

Sign up for our fun and informative

All content © 2016 Da Capo Publishing, Inc. 255 So Champlain St Ste 5, Burlington, VT 05401
Website powered by Foundation