If there were railroad tracks between Barre and Montpelier, Barre would be “on the other side” of them. It’s a working-class city that sprang up around the region’s remarkable granite quarries, which are still producing world-class stone. The original laborers were immigrants from Italy and Scotland. This museum documents the history, geology and technology of the dangerous trade that cut many Vermont lives short.


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review

Roll over stars and click to rate.

Seven Days moderates comments in order to ensure a civil environment. Please treat the comments section as you would a town meeting, dinner party or classroom discussion. In other words, keep commenting classy! Read our guidelines...

Note: Comments are limited to 300 words.

Past Events

  • Barre Farmers Market

    • Saturdays, 9 a.m.-1 p.m. and Wednesdays, 3-7 p.m. Continues through Oct. 14 2015
  • Vermont Granite Festival

    • Sat., Sept. 19, 10 a.m.-4 p.m. 2015
  • 'Stone'

    • Thu., July 23, 7 p.m., Fri., July 24, 8 p.m., Sat., July 25, 2 & 8 p.m., Sun., July 26, 2 p.m., Thu., July 30, 7 p.m., Fri., July 31, 8 p.m., Sat., Aug. 1, 2 & 8 p.m., Sun., Aug. 2, 2 p.m., Thu., Aug. 6, 7 p.m., Fri., Aug. 7, 8 p.m., Sat., Aug. 8, 2 & 8 p.m. and Sun., Aug. 9, 2 p.m. 2015

See all past events at Vermont Granite Museum »




Become a Friend

Related Stories

Keep up with us Seven Days a week!

Sign up for our fun and informative

All content © 2015 Da Capo Publishing, Inc. 255 So Champlain St Ste 5, Burlington, VT 05401
Website powered by Foundation