Doyle Defeated as Democrats Gain Seats in the Vermont Senate | Off Message
Pin It

Wednesday, November 9, 2016

Doyle Defeated as Democrats Gain Seats in the Vermont Senate

Posted By on Wed, Nov 9, 2016 at 5:33 AM

click to enlarge Sen. Bill Doyle - FILE: MATTHEW THORSEN
  • FIle: Matthew Thorsen
  • Sen. Bill Doyle
Republican governor-elect Phil Scott will face an even more Democratic Vermont Senate than the one he's come to know, according to preliminary results from Tuesday's elections.

Democrats and Progressives appeared to pick up two seats in the state's upper chamber, giving them 23 out of 30. But Republicans successfully fended off a challenge in Franklin County, where they were defending two seats.

The biggest shock of the night came in Washington County, where Sen. Bill Doyle (R-Washington) fell to former Democratic representative and sergeant-at-arms Francis Brooks. Doyle, 90, has served in the Senate since 1969. A political science professor at Johnson State College, he is known throughout Vermont for the annual "Doyle Poll" he administers every March on Town Meeting Day.

With all 20 of the county's precincts reporting early Wednesday, Brooks led Doyle 13,685 to 13,498 votes for the third seat in the district. Incumbent Sens. Ann Cummings (D-Washington) and Anthony Pollina (P/D-Washington) won the other two seats, with 17,008 and 15,207 votes, respectively.

Democrats and Progressives picked up a second seat Tuesday in Chittenden County, where Sen. Diane Snelling (R-Chittenden) recently retired. Filling her seat and another vacated by Progressive/Democratic lieutenant governor-elect David Zuckerman were Williston Selectboard member Debbie Ingram, a Democrat, and Rep. Chris Pearson (P-Burlington), who ran as a Democrat and Progressive.

All four incumbents in the six-member Chittenden County district — Sens. Tim Ashe (D/P-Chittenden), Phil Baruth (D-Chittenden), Ginny Lyons (D-Chittenden) and Michael Sirotkin (D-Chittenden) — won reelection.

In the hardest-fought Senate battle in Vermont, Sen. Dustin Degree (R-Franklin) won reelection and Rep. Carolyn Branagan (R-Georgia) took the second of two positions in the Franklin County district. Branagan had previously defeated Sen. Norm McAllister (R-Franklin) in the Republican primary as he fought sexual assault charges. The two Republicans beat former senator Sara Branon Kittell and Denise Smith, both Democrats.

With 14 of 15 precincts reporting early Wednesday, Degree had 9,281 votes, Branagan 8,593, Kittell 7,415 and Smith 5,085.

In Windsor County's three-member district, Rep. Alison Clarkson (D-Woodstock) succeeded retiring Sen. John Campbell (D-Windsor). The county's two other incumbents, Sens. Dick McCormack (D-Windsor) and Alice Nitka (D-Windsor) retained their seats. They defeated three Republicans and an independent.

In every other county, incumbents won reelection.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Got something to say? Send a letter to the editor and we'll publish your feedback in print!

Pin It

Did you appreciate this story?

Show us your ❤️ by becoming a Seven Days Super Reader.

About The Author

Paul Heintz

Paul Heintz

Paul Heintz is a staff writer and political editor for Seven Days. He wrote the "Fair Game" political column from May 2012 through December 2016.

About the Artist

Matthew Thorsen

Matthew Thorsen

Matthew Thorsen has been shooting photographs for Seven Days since 1995. Read all about his work here.


Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Keep commenting classy! Read our guidelines...

Note: Comments are limited to 300 words.

Keep up with us Seven Days a week!

Sign up for our fun and informative

All content © 2018 Da Capo Publishing, Inc. 255 So. Champlain St. Ste. 5, Burlington, VT 05401
Website powered by Foundation