'Lady Day at Emerson's Bar and Grill' | Dorset Theatre | Theater | Seven Days | Vermont's Independent Voice

Seven Days needs your financial support!

This is a past event.

'Lady Day at Emerson's Bar and Grill' Staff Picks

When: Thu., Aug. 18, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Aug. 19, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Aug. 20, 7:30 p.m., Sun., Aug. 21, 2 p.m., Wed., Aug. 24, 2 & 7:30 p.m., Thu., Aug. 25, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Aug. 26, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Aug. 27, 7:30 p.m., Sun., Aug. 28, 2 p.m., Wed., Aug. 31, 2 & 7:30 p.m., Thu., Sept. 1, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Sept. 2, 2 & 7:30 p.m. and Sat., Sept. 3, 2 & 7:30 p.m. 2016
Phone: 802-867-2223
Price: $18-57.
Eleanora Fagan — more commonly known as Billie Holiday — was one of the most influential jazz singers of the 20th century. She got her start in Harlem nightclubs, where she won attention for her unique voice and impeccable improvisations. Holiday was soon scooped up by major labels and went on to a nearly 30-year career in the music biz, yet her path was fraught with hardship. Drug use, abusive relationships and a short stint in prison had their way with Holiday’s voice, and her commercial success eventually deteriorated. Playwright Lanie Robertson provides a window into the last days of the soulful artist in her 1986 play with music, Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar & Grill presented by the Dorset Theatre Festival.

Map

Nearby

Keep up with us Seven Days a week!

Sign up for our fun and informative
newsletters:

All content © 2022 Da Capo Publishing, Inc. 255 So. Champlain St. Ste. 5, Burlington, VT 05401

Advertising Policy  |  Privacy Policy  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Help
Website powered by Foundation